Upminster Tithe Barn
Museum of Nostalgia
Welcome to the Museum
Enthusiastic and keen volunteers are being sought to help look after the Tithe Barn's collection of nostalgic exhibits and to meet and greet visitors on Open Days throughout the summer season, from late March until mid October. Experience is not necessary as any training and information will be provided.
Any one interested should contact Ian Whaley on 01708 500600, or email email@example.com
The Upminster Tithe Barn houses a collection of artifacts of nostalgic origin and is located in Hall Lane, Upminster in the London Borough of Havering. It is owned by Havering London Borough Council and run in partnership with the Hornchurch and District Historical Society. The museum holds around 14,500 artifacts of domestic and agricultural use.
The thatched building the museum is located in dates from the 15th century and is commonly known as the Tithe Barn , however there is no evidence to suggest it was ever used for the collection of tithes . Upminster station is the nearest National Rail and London Underground station.
The Tithe Barn was built by the Abbey of Waltham in 1450 when the Hall (now the golf club) was a retiring place or hunting seat for the Abbot.
The Tithe Barn stands 18 metres long by 12 metres wind and 45 metres long..
The Tithe Barn became a museum on the 1st May 1976. There are currently over 14,500 exhibits, ranging from Roman times to the present day.
Guided tours inside and outside the Tithe Barn are available.
Schools and other groups are most welcome at other times by arrangement with Ian Whaley on 01708 500600, or email firstname.lastname@example.org